Petition 81438

Print this page
Submitted TextClose Window X

Nebraska (81438-CO-¶37-C)

Amend ¶37 as shown:  
The United Methodist Church shall have jurisdictional conferences made up as follows:
    Northeastern—Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, the Virgin Islands, West Virginia.  
Southeastern—Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia.
North Central—Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin.
South Central—Arkansas, Louisianan, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas.
Western—Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii and the territory of the United States in the Pacific region.  


The ministry and rural community issues facing the Nebraska Annual Conference are more analogous to those conferences within the North Central Jurisdiction than those of  the South Central Jurisdiction. This would allow for more effective collaboration of rural  
life and community ministries among comparable Midwest conferences facing related issues.