Petition 81386

Print this page
Submitted TextClose Window X

Eliminate Western Jurisdiction (81386-CO-¶37-C)

Amend ¶37 as follows:
¶ 37. Article I.-The United Methodist Church shall have jurisdictional conferences made up as follows:
Northeastern-Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, the Virgin Islands,81  West Virginia.82
Southeastern-Alabama, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia.
North Central-Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota, Wisconsin.
South Central-Arkansas, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Nebraska, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas.
Western-Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming and the territory of the United States in the Pacific region,83
Northwestern - Alaska, Colorado, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming.
Southwestern - Arkansas, Arizona, California, Hawaii, Kansas, Louisiana, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and the territory of the United States in the Pacific region.


The shrinking Western Jurisdiction is smaller than some annual conferences.  Consolidating fourteen districts into nine strengthened Florida Conference, reduced costs, and enabled stronger churches to help the weaker.  Pairing the Western Jurisdiction's conferences with those of North and South Central may revitalize them.